Dare County Emergency Mgmt statement – State of Emergency Issued for Dare County and Towns Following Control Group Meeting


5:00 p.m.

A State of Emergency has been issued for Dare County and all six towns following a meeting of the Dare County Control Group Tuesday afternoon. The emergency declarations are effective immediately and allow local officials to implement protective measures – including issuance of mandatory evacuation orders – that may be necessary as the hurricane approaches.

While under the state of emergency, no reentry passes will be issued by Dare County Emergency Management.

Hurricane Matthew is a strong, dangerous storm that, on its current track, is expected to bring significant to catastrophic impacts to Dare County. It is important for residents and visitors to stay informed and take necessary steps now to protect property. Assemble or restock your supply kit with essential supplies to sustain your family and your pets for up to three days. Preparedness information is available at www.readync.org.

The Dare County Control Group will meet again on Wednesday to review updated forecast information and determine protective measures necessary to ensure public safety.

Be prepared to evacuate if the order is issued. For up to date information, register to receive email alerts directly from Dare County Emergency Management atwww.darecountyem.com and follow @DareCountyEM on Twitter.

The next update from Emergency Management will be issued by 2:30 p.m. on Wednesday, October 5.