Re-Entry for Hatteras Island Non-Resident Property Owners Begins Saturday

Bulletin Number: 34

Date/Time: 9/8/2011 4:44:35 PM

Re-Entry for Hatteras Island Non-Resident Property Owners Begins Saturday

Re-entry for Hatteras Island non-resident property owners will begin at 6:00 a.m. Saturday, September 10 at the NCDOT ferry dock at Stumpy Point on the Dare County Mainland.

All non-Resident property owners will be required to show a 2008/2009 Red re-entry permit or a Dare County tax receipt along with a driver’s license. Copies of tax receipts are available on the “Public Information Files” on the Dare County Website www.darenc.com

During the re-entry of non-resident property owners, long lines and waiting delays are anticipated while the ferries are operating at maximum capacity. In order to accommodate as many non-resident property owners as possible, the Ferry Division of NCDOT is supporting the re-entry effort with round the clock 24 hour emergency ferry service.

NCDOT advises that technical problems can occur, without notice, that could delay or interrupt the emergency ferry service. These include the potential for mechanical breakdowns and unforeseen repairs that can occur with an expanded 24 hour operation. Delays may also be caused by weather, navigational issues, and load restriction limits that are associated with a shallow channel that is not typically used for ferry service. Your patience and cooperation will help assure a smooth and orderly re-entry process.

Between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 4:30 a.m., the Ferry Division will give boarding priority to vehicles carrying essential commodities. Commercial vehicles are urged to use the overnight ferry trips in order to avoid congestion with the re-entry of residents.


The NCDOT Ferry Division is offering 16 departures from each side to assist with the re-entry process for Hatteras Island, on the following schedule beginning 5:00 a.m., Friday, September 9 –

Departing Stumpy Point at 12:30 a.m., 2:00 a.m., 3:30 a.m., 5:00 a.m., 6:30 a.m., 8:00 a.m., 9:30 a.m., 11:00 a.m., 12:30 p.m., 2:00 p.m., 3:30 p.m., 5:00 p.m. 6:30 p.m., 8:00 p.m., 9:30 p.m., 11:00 p.m.

Departing Rodanthe at midnight, 1:30 a.m., 3:00 a.m., 4:30 a.m., 6:00 a.m., 7:30 a.m., 9:00 a.m., 10:30 a.m., 12:00 p.m., 1:30 p.m., 3:00 p.m., 4:30 p.m., 6:00 p.m., 7:30 p.m., 9:00 p.m., and 10:30 p.m.

For ferry information and schedules, contact the NCDOT Ferry Division at 1-800-BY-FERRY


As non-resident re-entry goes into effect, Dare County Emergency Management will monitor progress and updated information regarding visitor re-entry will be announced early next week. Efforts are being made to provide re-entry for everyone as quickly as possible. Until then, visitors with immediate travel plans for Hatteras Island are advised that visitor re-entry will not begin until sometime after September 17.

Visitors with immediate travel plans to Hatteras Island should seek accommodations elsewhere in Dare County, north of Oregon Inlet. If you need help finding lodging, contact the Outer Banks Visitors Bureau at 1-877-629-4386 or visit www.outerbanks.org

IMPORTANT RECOVERY INFORMATION – Online 24 hours per day at www.darenc.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *